Posted in Deities, Godspousing, Spiritual Growth

Having Personal Relationships with Deities and Spirits Rather than Formal. Gatekeeping in Both Regards.

I never really could be formal. In all honesty the times I’ve tried to it’s failed. I suppose the most formal I’ve ever been was with Yah and Anubis but even then those small formal gestures lifted quickly. Hard to say how exactly and who dropped the formal language first, most likely me, but nevertheless I want to talk about the difference a lot of us witches have with our deities and how gatekeeping is abound in both camps.

Let’s start with my camp. Team who gives a fuck about formalities? While in a lot of ways I see the purpose of being formal, for the most part I don’t. A Goddess or God to me is Someone Whom I want in my life and with my first intention want around forever. So it’s odd to me to be so very grandiose. I guess you can say I like to get to know them as friends before officially working with them. This kind of work depends on personal vs external, but nonetheless if i don’t have a strong connection with that deity we never work together.

I have seen though people take this too far and say in so many words or less that their devotion to said deity out ways another person’s experience. Bull. Devotion is great but many a times I’ve seen deities not want any of their devotees to act as oracles nor enter into any kind of clergy role.

On the flip side. Side let’s be uber formal with our deities, there is too much ritual and too much involved to speak to the gods. Not that the work or ritual doesn’t have it’s merit, but it’s certainly not the only way to communicate with deities. A lot of organized religion and circles do this because at one point said deity liked it that way at the time, but and while tradition is great, one can gatekeep new instruction from said deity by being bogged down by past rituals.

Both sides have to grow to realize that there can be a happy medium. You can be as formal or informal as you see fit. No one defines your relationship to the Divine other than you and the Divine.

That being said, one has to use caution when working with others. If you’re not on the same page then how do expect to grow? You won’t. You’ll be kept down and be prevented from experiencing the full glory of your potential.

When it comes to formalities let the Gods be the deciding factor. Some require specific instructions, others are as free to use informal language as much as you want. It all depends. So this argument in modern witchcraft needs to be put on the back burner. Let’s settle this here that both have merit and use and not everyone fits neatly into ritualistic box nor a lasse-fair relationship with their deity(ies).

Work out with your deities what language and ritual to use works best for you and happy witching!

Author:

An eclectic universalist witch with a lot to write about. Consider this a sort of grimoire.

Leave a comment